Sept 2022 Book Haul

When the book bug bites, it bites hard. Last month, my husband took a few days to travel & unwind & we did one of our favorite things: find the local library. As we wandered through the space (which was a converted church no less; I’m kvelling) I whipped out my phone & started taking pictures of the displays & staff recommends so I could hunt them down myself when we returned home.

And, boy, did I find every single one I was looking for!

Library Haul!

Sooo, let’s go over what I got & why I had to grab it!

  • Atoms and Ashes: A nonfiction account of major nuclear disasters from around the world, author Plokhy both marvels at how ingenious we are developing this energy source, as well as how completely fucking clueless we are when it all goes wrong.
  • We Sold Our Souls: Tis the spooky season & it’s not complete without a story from Grady Hendrix. Grabbed this one because its about a rock band & he usually has a lot of fun tearing up pop culture icons.
  • Everyday Trauma: A nonfiction book about integrative approaches to confront trauma in one’s own life. Given that I’m doing a healthy bit of mental health care myself these days, thought I might see if I could pick up anything new.
  • The Memory Librarian: Oh, what’s that? A collection of stories to go with Janelle Monáe’s banging album Dirty Computer? Yeeees, pleeease, thane queue!
  • A Blade So Black: A YA urban fantasy rewrite of Alice in Wonderland with a diverse cast of character. Hells yeah, sign me up!
  • Nothing But Blackened Teeth: Ghost stories in a haunted Japanese mansion with a Bluebeard-like history. Nothing but check marks for a good fall read as the nights get longer.
  • (not pictured) The Embroidered Book: Monstrous fat fucking tome of a book, this novel combines fantasy & historical fiction to present a timeline where Marie Antoinette & her sister Charlotte used magic to help influence their fates. Saving this one for last because I have a feeling it’ll be like Ariosto & take time to finish. Thankfully, I think I can get through the others pretty quickly.

Y’all, there are other social media accounts with names like “Books Are Better Than Food” & looking at this month’s book haul, all I can do is sigh contently & agree. Happy Fall reading to you!