Books, Thoughts

Off the Shelf: The Disaster Artist

The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside The Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever MadeThe Disaster Artist: My Life Inside The Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made by Greg Sestero

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A coauthored memoir/tell-all about The Room & Sestero’s friendship w. Tommy Wiseau.

Look, Sunset Blvd is one of my favorite movies & I’ve absorbed other media like Party Down & You Must Remember This so I know that Hollywood is full of weird, ambitious people. But Disaster Artist seems to unwittingly showcase just how self-absorbed someone can become after working in “the business.” The story alternates between Sestero’s acting pursuits & his changing relationship with Wiseau as well as the actual filming of The Room.

The authors seem to want to have it both ways: readers get all the bizzaro anecdotes about shooting one of cinema’s worst movies & hears how oddly sympathetic Wiseau’s personal story is. This approach creates a tension where the radar cannot put the book down but will feel like a creepy voyeur. It is not a fun read. I feel like I’ve been privy to a public confession from someone who just wanted some company any way they could get it.

View all my reviews

