Thoughts

The Movie List (a la Rob Gordon)

So here we are, Readers.  I was doing some organizing the other day & my husband was teasing me once again about how incomprehensible he finds my DVD collection.  Which never fails to rile me up.  I demand to him that it makes sense & that it has its own internal logic.  He just says that I did so he would never be able to find anything without my help.  As a result, I sat down & wrote it out on a piece of paper for his reference & I figured I would finally get around to posting it here.  Not sure it will have any interest to strangers whatsoever, but I can’t order my Letterboxd account the same way.

DVDs
Wanna watch something?
  • Starting Point: Sunset Blvd. (aka the first movie I ever loved as more than just entertainment.)  Leads to. . .
  • William Holden movies
    • hinge movie Network leads to. . .
  • Noir, mystery, & thrillers (ex. Deception, Brick, & Marathon Man)
    • hinge movie Laura (feat. Vincent Price) leads to. . .
  • B-movies & cult films (ex. Roger Corman box, Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter, Streets of Fire)
    • hinge movie The Guyver (feat. David Hayter who worked w. dir. Bryan Singer on the first two X-men movies) leads to. . .
  • Superhero movies (ex. said X-men movies, the Sam Raimi Spiderman 2, The Hebrew Hammer)
    • hinge movie Orgazmo leads to. . .
  • Comedies (ex. most of Judd Apatow’s stuff, Wet Hot American Summer, Office Space)
    • hinge movie Clueless leads to. . .
  • Chick flicks (ex. Secretary, Pitch Perfect 2, Samson and Delilah)
    • hinge movie Sense and Sensibility (written by Emma Thompson) leads to. . .
  • Brit flicks (ex. anything by Michael Winterbottom or Edgar Wright)
    • hinge movie Wilde leads to. . .
  • Sensitive Men (ex. Vanya on 42nd Street, American Splendor, Lost in Translation)
    • hinge movie The Tenant leads to. . .
  • The Apartment trilogy (The Tenant, Rosemary’s Baby, Repulsion) leads to. . .
  • Hysterical Women (ex. Dancer in the Dark, Martha Marcy May Marlene)
    • hinge movie Please Give leads to. . .
  • Dysfunctional Families (ex. Beginners, Boogie Nights, Get Out)
    • hinge movie Raging Bull leads to. . .
  • Gangster Movies (ex. The Godfather, The Departed)
    • hinge movie Road to Perdition leads to. . .
  • Dystopias & Unhinged Citizens (ex. Dark City, Fight Club, Never Let Me Go)
    • hinge movie Badlands/Days of Heaven leads to. . .
  • The South (ex. Beasts of the Southern Wild, Wise Blood)
    • hinge movie In the Heat of the Night (ed. by Hal Ashby) leads to. . .
  • Hal Ashby (ex. Harold and Maude)
    • hinge movie One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (which was almost dir. by Ashby) leads to. . .
  • Westerns (ex. My Darling Clementine, Duel in the Sun, Heaven’s Gate)
    • hinge movie True Grit (2010, dir. by the Coens) leads to. . .
  • The Coen brothers (ex. most everything they’ve directed so far)
    • hinge movie A Serious Man (set in the Midwest) leads to. . .
  • Robert Altman (I have a fraction of what he directed but my proudest own is a short film anthology called Gun that aired on TV at the end of the 90s)
    • hinge movie A Prairie Home Companion leads to. . .
  • Music(als)/Concert Films (ex. West Side Story, Fade to Red, This is Spinal Tap)
    • hinge movie Glenn Gould: Hereafter leads to. . .
  • Documentaries (ex. Gates of Heaven)
    • hinge movie Werner Herzog Collection box set leads to. . .
  • Werner Herzog (ex. anything he’s dir but my favorite forever is The Wild Blue Yonder)
    • hinge movie is the latest Herzog film/Wim Wenders box that leads to. . .
  • Foreign Film (ex. La Femme Nikita, Biutiful, Tampopo)

Completely Separate:

  • Kids’ Movies (which I just can’t find a placement I’m happy with in the above list)
  • TV Shows (which is just different entirely)
