Off the Shelf: Green Tea and Other Ghost Stories

Green Tea and Other Ghost StoriesGreen Tea and Other Ghost Stories by J. Sheridan Le Fanu

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I recently got this little Dover Thrift collection as part of a boxed set of mystery & supernatural stories. I chose to read Le Fanu first because Carmilla is on my to-read list & I wanted to get a taste of what this author’s style was like. Unfortunately, the four stories presented here did not give me much to go on. The first story “Green Tea” was interesting enough & had a sort of Hawthorne-esque twist to it, where the reader doesn’t really know if the supernatural hallucinations are a product of the character’s guilt, some physical ailment or an actual batch of bad green tea. (If it is that last option, than this story becomes an unintentionally hilarious cautionary tale for this former Mormon reader.) However, the last three stories are all variations on deals with the devils or bad karma, with two of them being nearly identical.

I find myself wondering if I’m missing something. I’m uncertain if this is simply a poor collection or whether Le Fanu’s Victorian prose has a subtext that I’m not picking up due to his circumspect style. I do still want to read Carmilla at some point, but right now, I’m not much impressed with these stories.

View all my reviews

