Books, Thoughts

Off the Shelf: Not the Israel My Parents Promised Me

Not the Israel My Parents Promised MeNot the Israel My Parents Promised Me by Harvey Pekar

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An interesting overview of Jewish history & the creation of the Israeli state intertwined with Harvey Pekar’s own view of Jewish nationalism. JT Waldman’s art compliments the shifts in time with era-specific illustrations & graphics.

Definitely for American Splendor intermediaries. The book was completed after Pekar died & does feel a little incomplete. Pekar discusses the evolution of his ideas about Israel going from his parents’ influence to his own disillusionment. But I was left wondering if Harvey’s parents ever experienced the same change of heart or how the changing policies of the Jewish home-state ever affected them as they aged. Readers do get some satisfaction with Joyce Brabner’s epilogue, but I was still left with an unsatisfied feeling. Overall a quick but engaging read that serves as a quiet closing chapter to a lifetime of thoughtful work by Pekar.

View all my reviews

