Books

Off the Shelf: You Are a Badass

You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome LifeYou Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincero

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was actually recommended to me by one of my older patrons at the library where I work. She was so happy she had read the book that I was curious about it. Badass is a fun, thorough distillation of self-help and business-success books that relies on Sincero’s anecdotes & whip-smart style to convey techniques that may be familiar to most people who have browsed those sections at their bookstore at least once. Compact but full of sass & literary positive affirmations, Badass is a great way to hit the reset button on your thinking and get excited about turning over a new leaf, without some of the New Age-y touchy-feely stuff that stereotypes some self-betterment books. As Sincero says in her introduction, “If I can save one person from ever having to take their inner child on a play date, I have done my job.” Perhaps it’s because I started reading this book after attending my local TEDx event, but this book is self-help for the TED Talks crowd.

View all my reviews

