Books, Thoughts

Off the Shelf: Dune

Dune (Dune Chronicles, #1)Dune by Frank Herbert

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A classic sci-fi epic that blends recognizable conflicts, adventure tales and politics in a complex, interesting story. I picked up Dune for two reasons: because it was an influential novel in its genre and because I had seen the David Lynch adaptation. Dune plays upon the coming-of-age story of a Chosen One by illustrating the conflicting influences and powers that center on the young Paul Atredies, who is possibly the Kwisatch Haderach foretold by the powerful Bene Gesserit. Herbert makes this typical story interesting by studying what happens when a hero gains too much power too quickly and must negotiate his own internal struggle for control as well as meet the expectations of those around him. Dune is a dense book written with detailed care, but it also moves at a decent pace. I was also surprised that it is not all that different from Lynch’s adaptation. While the movie does compress much & has a specific vision, the choices Lynch made have their seeds in the story. While I did enjoy reading this entry in the series, I don’t feel the immediate need to keep following the story.

View all my reviews

