Books

Off the Shelf: The Sandman: Overture #1

The Sandman: Overture #1The Sandman: Overture #1 by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5 instead of 4. I was a little conflicted on how to rate this new entry in the Sandman series. I’m happy that Gaiman will be re-exploring the lives of the Endless and the worlds they touch. This first entry is a very promising beginning, especially seeing all of Dream’s incarnations gathering. (Gaiman himself mentions he was a little bit in love with the artist’s illustration of Dream as a plant. I loved the fold-out center.) The drawback is that this is just a beginning, a very spare beginning. Having just finished the original series run this year, I was disoriented by small, crucial details. Example: when Death warns Destiny that she has “just taken” Dream to her kingdom despite being in the timeline before his initial capture or the presence of the original incarnation of the Corinthian. This beginning bends and echoes the ending of The Sandman, Vol. 10: The Wake in interesting ways, but I felt unsure as to exactly where we were beginning. Then again, that may very well be Gaiman’s intention. I look forward to reading this run of stories in the original comic form as opposed to being gathered in a graphic novel. This will be a different type of reading experience for me, so any uncertainty on my part is, for now, outweighed with the anticipation of the next issue.

View all my reviews

