Books, Thoughts

Gripe Books

In my last post I mentioned that I was reading Esther K. Smith’s How To Make Books.  I thought it would be handy for a bibliophile like me to know how to make those objects that I cherish so much.  (This article about VCU students creating books for people to fill with their histories & put into the public circulation at the Richmond Public Library was inspiring too.)  So I decided to apply the first example in Smith’s book to life & made gripe books.

A Customer is Anyone Who Needs Something From You!
A Customer is Anyone Who Needs Something From You!

Anyone whose worked any job anywhere has hilariously awful stories about customers or bosses who have demanded something from you.  I know I have a few.  So I thought a mini gripe book would be a nice little form of therapy.  Something where you could scribble the things you can’t say out loud or record someone’s momentous stupidity for posterity.

I made these out of things around the office.  The apathetic girl graphic I snagged from some corporate manual, keeping the characters from David Rees’ Get Your War On and Yahtzee Croshaw’s use of a certain Thomas Ruff portrait in mind.  I taped the graphic & some blank paper on top of an old report and then photocopied the page.  The “cover” is made from a manila folder & stapled together.  Here’s one I made for myself as a prototype.

Our Story Begins
Our Story Begins
Conflict
Conflict
Drama & Resolution
Drama & Resolution
Ennui
Ennui

Cheap therapy indeed.  I hope my co-workers get good use out of the blank ones I’m making for them.

