Books, Thoughts

All Hallow’s Read!

Happy Halloween and Merry All Hallow’s Read, dear readers!  As I mentioned awhile back, I went to my local library book sale to pick up a few new books but also to find presents for All Hallow’s Read.  For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, All Hallow’s Read is a tradition started by Neil Gaiman a few years ago.  You can read the original post here.

So, I decided to take part this year, even if I celebrated a little early this year.  For my friend Courtney, I found a copy of Sandman: Book of Dreams, which seemed right.  She was coveting it as soon as I picked it up at the book sale, so I decided to give it to her.  In return, she gave me Octavia Butler’s Fledgling, which has a blurb from Junot Diaz & a summary that intrigues me.

For my friend Bobby, I gave him a small Penguin 60s book: A Gathering of Ghosts Stories by Robertson Davies.  Penguin 60s are not just cute, they’re the perfect travel size.  They remind me of Mr. Willoughby’s small volume of Shakespearean sonnets in Sense and Sensibility.

For my friend Justin, I gave him The Vulcan Academy Murders, a Star Trek novel by Jean Lorrah, because the genre-bending between mystery and sci-fi fits his mutable personality.  The match was too irresistible to give up.

Below is my own suggested list for gifts.  I hope you can take part next year, dear reader!

The three Books of Blood by Clive Barker
The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski
Hell of a Woman by Jim Thompson
Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin
Tomato Red by Daniel Woodrell
Linden Hills by Gloria Naylor
Wormwood by Poppy Z. Brite
Haunted by Chuck Palahnuik
The Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard
The illustrated Poe stories by Gris Grimly or any of Edward Gorey’s little books (but I love The Blue Aspic the best!)

