Food, Thoughts

The Panicked Chef Makes: Sausage & Kale Soup

Even though I am a Panicked Chef, there are a few things I do enjoy making that are relatively stress-free. Quesadillas, scrambled eggs, chickpeas & rice, pasta with marinara made from scratch: all of these are simple dishes that I can make pretty confidently. But one food that I do really enjoy making is soup. I love making soups and stews because they are pretty low-maintenance & welcome whatever herbs, veggies or meat you want to throw in. Soup is like a big love-in–the atmosphere is warm, everyone is welcome & there are plenty of portions to go around.

Not only do I enjoy making soup, but having one cooking all day in a slow cooker seems to be the essence of hominess to me. The kitchen holds the warmth from the pot; the delicious smells disperse throughout the house. In a matter of hours you have a warm, comforting meal. Whenever I’m making a soup, I want to call my friends & invite them over because the meal seems too good to not share.

So, with that in mind, when Kurt & I did plan on having a few friends over a few weeks ago, I felt inspired & decided to make what I love. Going through my huge doorstop-sized Fix-It-and-Forget-It cookbook, I found this tasty recipe for sausage & kale soup.

You’ll need:

5 1/2 cups of chicken broth

1/2 cup heavy cream

3 carrots, grated

4 potatoes, sliced or cubed

4 cups kale, chopped (I used 2 14oz cans drained)

1 lb spicy Italian sausage, browned

1/4 tsp salt

crushed red pepper flakes to taste

The directions were so simple. I just poured the broth & cream into slow cooker and turned it on High. The carrots, potatoes, kale & sausage went in once they were ready. Throw in some salt & red pepper flakes & in 4 or 5 hours, an irresistible soup is ready to eat. My husband said that any soup with heavy cream is bound to be awesome by default. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures of the finished product, but we all enjoyed it as we watched the snow falling outside the window. Good company, good food & not a single panic attack. I call that a success!

