Thoughts

Opening Words for 2012

I’ve thought a lot the past few days about the end of the old year & the beginning of the new.  I don’t think much of it would have made sense, which is why I have kept quiet here.  But, I did read Neil Gaiman’s New Year’s Day post & one of the closing sentences has stayed with me:

Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Which is why there is a video of me playing “Auld Lang Syne” at the end of this post.  There is so much in my life I keep under wraps: my writing, my fiddle-playing, my anger, my opinions.  I’m not saying that Mr. Gaiman’s words are the sudden spell that will set all of those things free.  But considering 2011 was the year I turned 30 & I decided to do many things I had been tempted to try, 2012 seems like it should be a continuation of that same spirit.  Of meeting my fears & anxieties head on & moving forward past them.

So, in response to the fear of someone hearing me play my fiddle, a video of me doing just that.

Happy New Year & best wishes to you!

