Thoughts

Sunshine & Puppies & Rallying

Last month was rough, which is why I’ve been pretty bad about posting.  On top of draining family complications, I had a biopsy last week.  A thing I thought was a freckle showed up on my leg about 4 years ago & recently started looking pretty scary.  It was a good size spot on my leg that was a dark black-purple.  While it fell within the ABCDE guidelines, I still went to the doctor.

Luckily, it is not cancerous.  Both my primary care doctor & the dermatologist agree that the damned spot is a blood vessel or a vascular oddity.  But I must admit that only after they cut the little patch out of my skin, I let myself cry.  Once it was all over, I finally realized just how scared I had been despite all of the inappropriate jokes my husband & I had told each other in the weeks leading up to the check-up.  For example, if they had to amputate my leg, I would be a better mom to our three-legged cat or I could be like Lance Armstrong & bike the cancer off.

So it’s only been in the last few days that I’ve gotten myself together.  I thought I would share some of the things that have made me happy in the last few weeks.

First, appropriately, The Decemberists’ “Calamity Song” & the Infinite Jest-themed music video.

My upcoming creative nonfiction seminar at WriterHouse in Charlottesville.  Looking forward to being part of a writing group again.  Also, the session.org for keeping me rich in fiddle tunes to learn & sad songs to indulge myself in playing.

Books to distract me from most everything else.  Not only are Clive Barker’s Absolute Midnight & Michael Martone’s Four For a Quarter coming out in the following weeks, I wrapped up in Daniel Woodrell’s Bayou Trilogy.  I love getting lost in Woodrell’s grimy little worlds.

My husband’s sustaining cooking.  (Whose birthday next week I will be thanking God, the universe & the fates for.)

Salad with Flank Steak & Chimichurri Sauce

For dessert, baking with my best friend.

Peanut Butter Cake with Jelly & Creme Cheese Frosting

Finally, the calm support from loved ones which has helped immensely.  Thank you!

