Uncategorized

Acknowledgements

“My Russian Spring” takes its structure from Bram Stoker’s Dracula, as well the name of our heroine.

Jesse’s character wouldn’t be possible if I hadn’t read Deborah Copaken Kogan’s Shutterbabe and Clive Barker’s Sacrament.

Sashenka is based on a performer of the same name who was at this year’s Renaissance Faire at the Lake Anna Winery in Louisa, VA.  Thank you for being an inspiration.

Much thanks to my friend Courtney whose stories about her grad school experiences provided the flavor for Mina’s background.  She tolerated my borrowing, which I appreciate.

Jesse’s photo book is real.  It’s called Children of Many Lands, edited by Hanns Reich and published in 1958.  I fictionalized a few elements for the story, but it is 100 percent real & is someone else’s work.

1 thought on “Acknowledgements”

Comments are closed.