Thoughts

30 Songs for 30 Years

So, whether you’ve run across it or not there is a 30 Day Song meme for various social networks.  Some of my friends have done it on Facebook & it’s fun to follow for awhile.  I’ve thought about doing it myself, but I have a little difficulty completing these sort of tasks, as certain posts on this blog will attest.

However, I turn 30 today & the fact that there are 30 songs seems serendipitous.  So as a break from the last days of My Russian Spring, here is my list, as well as the stories associated with each song, because I can’t get enough of my own words.  & because turning 30 makes you reflect back on the good times, har har.  (Also, there are some variations, because I’m doing this my way, dammit!)

  1. Your favorite song – “She May Call You Up Tonight” by Sid & Susie  (my sunshine song)
  2. Your least favorite song – “Kiss Me” by Sixpence None the Richer  (Once while waiting for a ride after school, I was forced to listen to some girl & her boyfriend rehearse this song over & over & over.  I hate it.)
  3. Your favorite cover song – a tie between “Crystal Ship” by X or “2HB” by Thom Yorke  (But “2HB” would probably win.  I mean, I love Roxy Music, but Bryan Ferry sometimes sounds goofy, even when he was being sincere.)
  4. Your least favorite cover song – another tie between Billy Corgan’s “Landslide” or anything ever done by the East Village Opera Company  (I’m not an opera purist, but if you try to make “La donna e mobile” sound like a pop song, you are worthy of my scorn.)
  5. A song that reminds you of someone – “Wouldn’t Mama Be Proud” by Elliott Smith  (This one goes out to Jack Morrison, who ran Blue Dog for 12 years & turned me onto Elliott Smith.  Thank you, sir.)
  6. A song that reminds you of somewhere – “Gasoline” by Enter the Haggis  (Asheville, on my honeymoon, in The Grey Eagle, dancing my ass off to Irish rock after eating some of the best lowcountry food.)
  7. A song that reminds you of a certain event – “Take Me With You” by Tori Amos  (This one is a little more associative.  My friend & former professor Gregg put together a small summer reading group to discuss Toni Morrison’s A Mercy.  In the weeks leading up to the meeting, I was miserable at work one day & this song came on.  Some of the lyrics fit Florens’ story so the idea popped into my head to bind my copied pages into a book & write the lyrics on the inside of the cover.  It was a project that not only made me forget about my unhappy day, but completed the experience of reading the book in such a final satisfying way, I still haven’t felt the need to reread it.)
  8. A song that you know all the words to – Placebo’s “Pure Morning”  (I didn’t say it was a good song but I wanted to be Brian Molko as a teenager.)
  9. A song you can dance to – “I’ll Be There” by The Four Tops  (I love you Levi Stubbs!)
  10. A song that makes you fall asleep – “Sweetness Follows” or “Find The River” by R.E.M.  (Automatic For the People is the best chill out CD.)
  11. A song from your favorite band – “We’re In This Together Now” by nine inch nails  (Obviously.)
  12. A song from a band you hate – “William, It Was Really Nothing” by The Smiths  (The Cure rules!)
  13. A song that is a guilty pleasure – “Runaway” by Real McCoy  (I have no regrets!)
  14. A song that no one would expect you to love – “The Living Daylights” by a-ha  (Not only do I dislike the James Bond franchise, this is probably one of the more obscure songs on here.  What can I say, I’m stupid for synths.)
  15. A song that describes you – “Cynical Girl” by Marshall Crenshaw
  16. A song that is a mix tape essential – “Dig For Fire” by the Pixies  (Mid-tempo, perfect bridge for other songs, mood can be pensive, hopeful, inspiring, comforting, ironic.  A song for all seasons.)
  17. A song you hear often on the radio – “Everything’s Zen” by Bush  (Boo!)
  18. A song that you wish you heard on the radio – “The Freshman” by The Verve  (Yay!)
  19. A song from your favorite album – “Suburbia” by Matthew Good Band  (Beautiful Midnight had never let me down.)
  20. A song that you listen to when you’re angry – “Survialism” by nine inch nails  (Yeah, it’s not a happy song.  Even less so when you’re stuck behind stupid rednecks in traffic with anti-Obama stickers & gun advocacy slogans all over their SUV.)
  21. A song that you listen to when you’re happy – “Help I’m Alive” by Metric  (Listen to it now!)
  22. A song that you listen to when you’re sad – “Trouble In Mind” by Nina Simone
  23. A song that you want to play at your wedding – If I had to do it all over again, “At the Dark End of the Street” by James Carr  (Self-explanatory.)
  24. A song you want to play at your funeral – Either “All My Tears” or “Michaelangelo” by Emmylou Harris  (Really, any song from Wrecking Ball would be perfect.)
  25. A song that makes you laugh – “I Dig Everything” by David Bowie (It’s like something off of the Austin Powers soundtrack!)
  26. A song you can play on an instrument – “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music
  27. A song you wish you could play – “Angeles” by Elliott Smith
  28. A song that makes you feel guilty – “Maria” by Rage Against the Machine  (White guilt!)
  29. A song from your childhood – “I Don’t Want to Live On the Moon” by Ernie from Sesame Street
  30. Your favorite song with a name in it – “Elizabeth” by Team Sleep, duh!
