Thoughts

Off the Cuff

Overtime is still going on my job, so I haven’t been updating too much.  It’s not a good thing to go so long without writing, mainly because even if I do it for myself, I feel like I have a little more weight in the world than being a two-dimensional wage slave.  Har har.  So, a quick off the cuff post.

I wrote before about my personal pop culture language.  It’s really really easy, when writing about a near & dear topic, to get snooty really fast.  But, I am not some walking reference of triviana; I do have my limits.

Last Friday is a perfect example.  I went with a bunch of friends to go see Blade Runner at this awesome theater the next county over.  I am nearly 30 & I had never seen the movie before that night.  I grew up Mormon, & while I try hard not to blame every (goofy) shortcoming on that, it does explain a few gaps in my pop culture language.  My sisters & I were restricted from a lot, including The Simpsons, Dirty Dancing, Lost Boys, John Hughes movies, etc.  (Side note: I don’t think it’s a verbal coincidence that my friend Gregg gives me a hard time for not having a Simpsons “vocabulary”.)

So, yeah, there’s some stuff I missed out on & never really felt the urge later to “discover” once I got older.  When my husband was mourning Patrick Swayze last year, we watched nearly all of his movies.  When he found out I had never seen Dirty Dancing, he looked at me as if I were some alien.

I mean, given the recent glut of pop culture clip shows or even the regular TV shows that parody other shows & movies, it’s not like I don’t get the appeal or the timely relevance.  I do, I just don’t feel the need to watch The Breakfast Club after that one episode of Dawson’s Creek  does it in 45 minutes.  Done.  (I can hear the cries of “Heretic!” now.)

With that said, there are times when I’m pleasantly surprised, like with Blade Runner.  I went mainly to ogle Rutger Hauer’s tough, youthful Scandihoovian bod & left with my analytical bent begging to study the movie next to Never Let Me Go or to pay closer attention to the architectural elements.  Hooray for new experiences!  When we left, my friend Katherine said, “Pop!  There goes your cherry!”  Maybe I’ll rethink my neutral attitude on the other stuff too.

