Books, Thoughts

A Facebook Story

I mentioned before I was at the James River Writers conference a few weeks ago. During one break, I walked into the next room where another panel was about to start.  One of the authors who was attending was still sitting in his chair, surrounded by a few people.

One of them was a fan, a much older man, who was holding one of the author’s books.  When there was a break in the conversation, he held it out & ask if the author could sign it.

The author took the book & an offered pen.  The two of them talked about the book for a minute, just small talk.  Then the author, who had clearly never met this person before, asked, “Who should I make this out to?”

There was a pause.  The fan looked irritated and surprised.  “Robert,” he said, “I’m your friend on Facebook.”

