Thoughts

Rosin Up!

I’m completely smitten for Moira.  I haven’t had that many lessons yet, but I love just picking up my fiddle & fooling around with it for an hour or so.

Right now, I’m trying to make sure I have the fingering on the frets right.  I do a lot of scales or hopscotching from note to note.  To keep from driving my husband or anyone else in the listening vicinity crazy, I clamp the bridge with clothespins.  (Props to my teacher Steve for telling me that trade secret!)

I also hum do-re-mi as a guide.  Basic practice like this sounds boring, I’m sure.  But it’s a sweet thrill when the vibrating note matches the sound in my throat.

All I can really do now is play the chorus from Jingle Bells.  But I found an easy version of Red River Valley online, so it gives me something to aspire to.  I’m really having fun!

2 thoughts on “Rosin Up!”

Comments are closed.