Thoughts

The Spirit of Halloween

Halloween has come & gone, despite my own grinchy attitude this year (“Halloween? Bah, humbug!”). I usually love the holiday, but this year, I just wasn’t into it. That is until I found someone who rekindled my belief in horror movies, non-Twilight vampires & smashed pumpkins.

That person: Pete “Mad Daddy” Myers.

I went to the Mt. Pony Theater to see the films they were offering for the Halloween weekend.  Friday was a B-movie double feature (Black Sunday & the original Wicker Man);  Saturday was Alien.  While the audience waited for each movie to start, the speakers blared songs like Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ “Frenzy” & Link Wray’s “Rumble”.  In between cuts, there some crazy DJ spitting rhythms about werewolves and laughing insanely into a mic with the reverb turned way up.

It was awesome.  It warmed the cockles of my black little goth heart.

That crazy DJ was no less than Pete “Mad Daddy” Myers, a cult figure from 50’s who probably inspired the psychobilly genre of today.  I’m still reading up on him, but here’s a video clip that gives you an idea of what I heard.  Thanks again, Mad Daddy, for helping me rediscover the spirit of Halloween.

